Richard Grannon Spartan Life Coach

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Richard Grannon Spartan Life Coach

Richard Grannon The Spartan Life Coach Narcissism Support

3 posters

So I've just realised I am the daughter of a narcissist...what do I do?!

Magic

So I've just realised I am the daughter of a narcissist...what do I do?! Empty So I've just realised I am the daughter of a narcissist...what do I do?!

Post by Magic Fri Jan 10, 2014 7:21 am

Hi all, I'm going to elaborate on my situation and am asking for a bit of advice too.
    I am a 45 year old ex RN, and I am happily married with 3 young kids (14, 8 and 4).

I have been doing work on myself for many years with various psychologists begining in my early 20s.
    There has been a lot to work on, anxiety, depression, addiction, just the whole mess!

But I am really making huge strides, and I feel so very strong.
    But at the same time I feel very overwhelmed and just so emotional.
    I had been numbing myself with medications for too long and I feel like now (since coming off antidepressants), I feel very sensitive to everything around me.
    But I also have this feeling of waking up. of seeing my world as it really is...warts and all.
    I am feeling all the emotions that had been suppressed and this is such hard work.

I was feeling at a bit of a standstill pre Christmas although I was begining to touch on "mother issues" in counselling.
    I consciously gritted my teeth and got through christmas day with my family.

Since then I had to write a note to my mother as I was to scared to face her and tell her in person something that she has been doing for years had to stop.
    I had to tell her to stop calling my youngest child by the wrong name. Mum didn't like the name we chose so simply made up her own for my child.

I have learned about narcissism over the last few days and realised the diagnoses of npd fits my mum.
    I'm sad.