Richard Grannon Spartan Life Coach

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Richard Grannon Spartan Life Coach

Richard Grannon The Spartan Life Coach Narcissism Support

[OT] Language inhibition to be fluent in another language

D3lt4
    D3lt4

[OT] Language inhibition to be fluent in another language Empty [OT] Language inhibition to be fluent in another language

Post by D3lt4 Sun Oct 21, 2018 11:21 am

Hello there Spartans,

This is a rather Off Topic as this is not directly related with narcissistic abuse. However, we've all ended up studying the human brain in some way or another in a sort of unofficial way.

I wanted to share this, as I've never heard of this before until it happened to me.

I always had some easy tendency to mix languages. I don't know if it's related somehow with childhood trauma (?) and the difficulty to express yourself when you want to. I have some thoughts and experiences that point me into thinking that it's kind of related. There's a link to this.

Now I'm struggling to properly speak in Spanish again. After some 'incident' I started speaking English mostly and my Spanish sounded like British. People think I'm trying to fake it to sound cool or something, but I'm not faking it in purpose.

I've also noticed that my brain 'switches' to English with very little control when I'm talking to someone I think 'it's a superior' (like my managers). This is very interesting IMO.

In one hand I was very happy to speak in English (finally) so fluently that it didn't feel uncomfortable at all. However, I understand from the outside people can see very strange, and that it's been done in purpose, which is not.