Richard Grannon Spartan Life Coach

Richard Grannon The Spartan Life Coach Narcissism Support

How the narc discourages you from the things you like

D3lt4

How the narc discourages you from the things you like

Post by D3lt4 on Fri Oct 12, 2018 2:36 pm

I've seen this behaviour repeated on every narc I've met... anyone knows what is the psychology trigger behind it?

Examples from different narcs:

- I started playing the piano. I really loved one song more than others. I practised playing this song quite often. One day the narc started playing it perfectly, much better than I did, like he was training in secret to compete with me (?), so somehow I would be discouraged to continue playing (?)

- I started sewing my own dress. He became super obsessed about it too. He didn't sleep for a few days to achieve something impossible. He never sewed before and he made in a few days a beautiful dress for me. He claimed it was something for me, but it was clearly to show off in front of everybody about his abilities.

- I told the narc I had an amazing experience, life changing, running. My health improved so much I felt alive. A few months after that conversation she sent me a picture of her in the finish line of a public marathon she won for a charity (?). She never did any workout or run, and suddenly she was able to win a public competition????

- After long time not using social media, when I intended to come back, I changed my profile picture. He immediately changed his profile picture and claimed publicly that he was back again, when in fact he was never gone. Everybody was a bit confused about this, but no more explanations where provided. I was shocked to see his reaction when I simply changed my profile picture.

Is this a type of harassment? This is only perceived by the victim, as the victim is the only one learning about something or making some changes and no one else knows, except for the narc. This seems to me like a very covert way to hurt someone.